Ode to the 21st Century

Don’t get me wrong – the 21st century is an awesome time to be alive. I can talk to friends in different countries, communicate instantly with my sister who lives on the other side of the world, and Skype to see how my infant niece is growing. It’s all amazing.

It can also be overwhelming. Just starting a blog and trying to figure out how to navigate my way around the site, find blogs on a different site, follow a friend who followed me (Karen-help me out here!) can all get slowed down by the fact I am a member of Generation X. Barely. Some would call me a Baby Boomer, but I would argue there has never been a span of years regarding THAT generation that includes the year I was born. Too many people I encounter are still computer illiterate, and this is sad. I actually had a Boomer say to me last week, “When I go home I don’t even know how to use the computer.” Which means at work she doesn’t use a computer at all. I suggested she get on the 21st century bandwagon before it all passed her into oblivion. She didn’t care for that comment.

But here is what is making me laugh right now. My significant other is downstairs on this rainy, lazy Saturday watching a story about the beginnings of Facebook and I’m sitting in another room trying to figure out how to follow someone on WordPress. Just a few short years ago, these concepts weren’t even in our vocabulary. 

We have world access instantly. It’s amazing, if not just a tad bit too much sometimes. I might go read a book – you know, the old fashioned kind, with a binding and paper pages.

5 thoughts on “Ode to the 21st Century

  1. I’m right there with ya…although I have enjoyed Kindle 🙂

    • traceywc29 says:

      Honestly I haven’t gotten one of those yet, but hear raves from those I know who have one. I’m sure there’s one of those on my horizon. Never say never in this crazy world! Thanks for the feedback!

  2. I am more than happy to help you out through the ins and outs of WordPress!!

  3. I would be more than happy to guide you through the ins and outs of WordPress!!

Leave a Reply

